The Siam Awaits

Tickets are booked! In a mere 2 months I will be heading to Thailand, not only as a much needed break, but also as a nice conclusion to this whole adventure we call medical school. In the best of company, me and my fellow travel mates from school will soak in sufficient vitamin D to last us the whole of residency, the next daunting chapter. Just kidding, vitamin D stores don’t quite work like that and the amount of hospital time that awaits us in the coming years will definitely keep us in a vitamin deficient state. However, we will have some great stories too look back on and to keep us sane.

copyright 2015

copyright 2015

Last time I was in the South East Asia, was just prior to starting school; so this is a nice loop about to happen. I’d taken 2 weeks to travel through Thailand by myself, the first real solo trip. Those two weeks had felt like an eternity and somehow through cash retrieval issues, intense diving courses and gecko infested bungalows, I was glad to make it home at the time. And yet, I think I learned more about myself in those two weeks than in the 6 years of medical education that ensued.

As important as being able to travel on your own is, I very much look forward to returning to some of the same places and experiencing them with the people who have been at my side not only through every exam session and challenging rotation, but also people with whom I’d already travelled to India with.

In the final days of study madness, being able to look forward to this goes a long way.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

