Electronic Age

Times Square - Courtesy of Weheartit.com

Times Square – Courtesy of Weheartit.com

As I am sitting on one of the few ‘non computerized’ seats in a section of the Toronto Pearson airport, I have to ask myself, when did we become so accepting of technology? Almost every spot has an iPad quite literally ‘in your face’. When did we become so easily distracted by shiny new things? Why are we ok with being bombarded with information at all times of the day. Do we really have this need for constant entertainment? Have we lost the ability to just be? Or is it merely a marketing ploy, ads flashing as though we were in the middle of NY times square. But the scariest part, is that it works. People are gobbling up the chance to permanently bridge the gap between themselves and the world.

In a time where information is but a click away, how are we expected to know anything anymore? If our cars have GPS, will we lose the ability to find our way and read maps? If cars can regulate the distance to the person in front of us on their own, will be need to know how to drive? To react? To think? I mean if this is how things are in 2015, how will they be 5 years from now. I’m not sure I want my children to go to a school that let’s them sit in front of an iPad screen all day. I want them to make mistakes and search for answers and struggle to find their own way. Because then they will be ready to think for themselves.

If I, in my late twenties, am overwhelmed by sheer omnipresence of technology, and am nauseated by how dependent we have become on it in such a short while; I can only imagine how hard it must be for elderly; for those who have survived wars, lived through such staggering changes in how our world works, and I wonder how they see this change. I wonder if they are as alarmed for the future of humanity as I am.

Leave a Reply

