The Windy City

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.”

It happened today. When I retraced my steps from almost 2 and a half years ago. Last time I was in this spot I was sad and uneasy. Something felt wrong and the pressure of the future was weighing down on me like a heavy noose. I had rarely felt that alone or lost. This place seemed out of reach and it was almost outrageous to believe I would return here once again. This time I am not on the sidelines. This time I get to show who I am and what I can be.

And today, the wind in my hair, the sun in my eyes, I could not possibly have felt more alive. I walked over to the bookstore which still bewitches me and then bought some of the University paraphernalia that is almost a must when you do a placement at a University such as this one. I am now writing this, cozied up in a soft burgundy sweater that signifies so much hope to me that it is hard to imagine I will ever reach such heights again.

Anyways, it’s been a day to not only dream the impossible, but to live it.

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

One thought on “The Windy City

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Made Whole Again” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

